top of page

Employee Spotlight: Matt Hubbard



Q: What do you do at Vital?

A: Design, create, and manage media productions from script to screen.


Q: When did you start working at Vital?

A: October 2017.


Q: What shows/movies have you watched recently?

A: It’s really been a mix lately. From the dark and scary like Stranger Things and American Horror Story to comedies like Curb Your Enthusiasm. HBO has really been grabbing my attention with next generation news programs such as Last Week Tonight and Vice.


Q: What's your favorite lunch spot in Columbus?

A: Hands down it’s gotta be the Loving Hut. I recently went all plant based with my diet and it’s hard to find good options when you go out. The whole menu is vegan.  It’s the best feeling to order anything you want and not have to question the ingredients. Loving Hut is based in Reynoldsburg (a 20-minute drive for me), but well worth every second.


Q: If you were an animal what would you be?

A: An Eagle! I have always loved to travel and the majestic feeling of being on high. To be able to spread your wings and fly anywhere at anytime would be an amazing feeling. Have wings, will travel!


Q: If you could be any superhero or animated character, who would you be?

A: Indiana Jones. Travel, adventure, mysterious artifacts, fighting the good fight. What is there NOT to aspire to. Thank you George Lucas and Steven Spielberg for bringing this character into being and making him a part of modern pop culture. My life wouldn’t be the same.


Q: What's your favorite part of your job?

A: I truly love it all. I have been obsessed with filmmaking all my life. I have studied and practiced all facets of filmmaking - from writing, directing, production design, cinematography, and editing to production workflows, and building the creative teams best for each project. Vital provides all these opportunities - on a daily basis.


Q: What was the last concert you went to?

A: Black Rebel Motorcycle Club. They really hit home musically for me. Growing up listening to the Grateful Dead, Led Zepplin, Rolling Stones and Bowie – BRMC really hit all the good notes. You really can’t have a bad experience at a psychedelic rock show.


Q: Name 3 of your favorite movies.

A: This is a tough question. I love so many for so many different reasons. If I have too narrow it down, I would have to look at the whole package. From story, cinematography, and production design to directing, acting, special effects. I also, really like a film that dives deep into the human condition. The top of the heap would have to be 2001: A Space Odyssey, There Will Be Blood, and Miller’s Crossing.


Contact Matt:

Email: mhubbard@vitalcompanies.com

0 comments
bottom of page